Zoom: New Security Icon Options for Meeting Hosts

Zoom: New Security Icon Options for Meeting Hosts

 

Beginning with Zoom desktop client, version 4.6.10, the application offers a Security icon. This feature provides hosts with useful security options, without needing to configure account settings.

 

Hosts can toggle the following options on or off during meetings. Active features are identified with a checkmark. Clicking an active feature again toggles it off.

 

Lock Meeting

When a meeting is locked, no new participants can join, even if they are authorized users or have a password.

 

Enable Waiting Room

Participants are placed in a virtual waiting room until admitted by the host when this option is turned on. The Waiting Room feature allows the host to control when each participant joins the meeting. You can admit attendees one by one, or hold all attendees in the virtual waiting room and admit them all at once.

 

If you are scheduling a meeting where sensitive information will be discussed, it is best to leave Enable join before host turned off. Visit Zoom's Join Before Host help page for more information.

 

Allow participants to:

o   Share Screen - Participants other than the host cannot share their screens with this option turned off.

o   Chat - Turning this option off prevents participants other than the host from using the Chat feature. 

o   Rename Themselves - Participants may not rename themselves in the meeting with this option turned off.

 

Additional Options

In addition to using the Security icon menu to control meetings, consider setting the following options when scheduling meetings:

 

     Remove a Participant from a Zoom Meeting or Webinar - If you have already begun a session and find an unwanted attendee has joined:

o    If the Participants panel is not visible, click Manage Participants at the bottom.

o    Next to the person you want to remove, click More.

o   From the list that appears, click Remove.

 

     Meeting Passwords It is recommended that you set a password for your meetings and webinars. In your account settings, you can control the default settings for the meetings you create, and when scheduling meetings, you can control the password settings for that particular meeting.

     Require a password when scheduling new meetings

     Require password for participants joining by phone -  If your meetings may have attendees joining by phone, consider requiring that they use a password. If you do this, you will need to provide the password to them separately from the

                        meeting invitation.

     Embed password in meeting link for one-click join - When this is turned on, the link you send out has an encrypted version of the password included, so attendees can join immediately without entering the password or going into a waiting room.   You should not share the meeting link publicly because anyone who has the full link with the encrypted password can join your meeting.

 

     Coming Soon! Additional options will be available soon.

     Authentication Option: Fresno State recommends hosts to turn ON authentication for meetings/sessions/classes

     Zoom offers the ability to require authentication for your classes and meetings. All Fresno State meetings, by default, will have passwords, but anyone with the meeting link details can join your Zoom meeting. This is fine until a meeting link gets shared with a person who should not have access to your meeting, which can lead to “Zoom Bombing.” With Authentication, your attendees also need to sign in to Zoom and be verified as a valid Zoom user, and in some cases, a host can require that an attendee sign in as a validated Fresno State Zoom user.

Was this helpful?
100% helpful - 5 reviews

Details

Article ID: 105581
Created
Thu 4/16/20 2:17 PM
Modified
Thu 4/16/20 2:19 PM